Four Barrel Coffee

Check out the line out the door.

So this blog isn’t really about coffee at all. “My kind of coffee” is a metaphor. Coffee being, well, you know, kind of a personal taste. Everyone likes it a different way. And if there aren’t enough choices, I am sure Starbux is dreamin up some more right now. This post right here, however, is about coffee. Because I do drink it. And I do want you to know about this.

So I went to Out The Door over on Bush St. with some friends for brunch. Had their coffee in a french press and asked about it because it was good. Really good. Like different than normal good. They told us it was a local company called Four Barrel Coffee.

The next week we went on a failed trip to a non-existent Farmer’s Market. Now having some time to kill we decided to check out Four Barrel. So we went through there and it was cool spot. There was a line out the door but it moved pretty quickly. The lattes we got were damn good. I bought a bag of coffee from there. Now the coffee is going to be more expensive here than your typical $10 bag. You’ll spend between $14-$18 on a nice bag.

chk out 4barrel : )

The place is choc-a-bloc with the requisite number of Mission tattooed and pierced coffee-house dwellers wearing the too-tight jeans. That number being ALL. There is nothing wrong with that….except I do consider the irony of wearing second-hand clothing while writing on Apple laptops. Whatever works. As far as I could tell, no one was laughing at me in my Warriors baseball hat and running shoes. So a nice place to hang. Feels nice and open with a good vibe.

Again, I am no coffee connoisseur but I do know good from bad and great from good. I give this place 5 coffee beans. Check it out, yo.

Four Barrel Coffee, 375 Valencia Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, (415) 252-0800

www.fourbarrelcoffee.com

2 Responses to Four Barrel Coffee

  1. Ingrid says:

    Love your writing. Love your photos. I know Four Barrel has a “line out the door,” but, I think that if you wrote for them, their line would be even longer.

Leave a Reply

